Skip to main content Skip link: Search Skip link: What are guide dogs? Skip link: Interested? Skip link: Contact us
Black Labrador lies at the foot of a green and mossy tree

FAQ's

Frequent questions about our school

Why does Foundation Swiss School for Guide Dogs for the Blind Allschwil mainly use Labrador Retrievers?

We breed our own Labrador Retrievers. The Labrador is a robust, easy going dog that loves to work. This breed is also extremely friendly towards people and other dogs, and is very adaptable.
However, other breeds and cross-breeds may also be suitable for this work. For us, it's important that he dog with its own talents and unique character is suited to the task, enjoys this particular work.

Are male or female dogs better suited to work as guide dogs, assistance dogs or autism service dogs?

There is no difference in how we train our male and female dogs, or in the work they carry out. Differences are far more apparent between individual dogs and their personalities, and have nothing to do with their gender.

How do you know whether a dog is suitable or not for training as a guide dog, assistance dog or autism service dog?

It takes a few weeks for us to investigate the suitability of any dog. We observe the dog’s talents, skills and character and decide whether it should be trained as a guide dog, an assistance dog or an autism service dog. If it is not suitable for any of these, it will become a family dog; later, it will attend the social dog training course along with its new owner.

Why are the vocal cues given in Italian?

The Italian language is particularly suitable for the 30 or so vocal cues because there are a lot more vowels in Italian than in German. This enables the dog to differentiate more easily between the different vocal cues and the spoken language. In other schools, vocal cues are usually given in the national language.

How long are the daily training sessions?

Depending on the dog’s current training level, a training session may last anything from a few minutes to an hour at a time. In addition to the specific tasks that a guide dog, assistance dog or autism service dog needs to carry out, the instructors also train basic obedience with the dog every day.

Does an instructor train more than one dog at a time?

Instructors train two to three dogs in parallel. They always work individually with each dog, adapting the training periods to suit the requirements and current training level of each particular dog.

How are the dogs housed at the school?

The dogs sleep in groups of two or three per kennel. In addition, the instructors take their dogs home with them in the evenings or over the weekend very often. Because dogs are pack animals, we think it is important that they do not spend too much time alone; they need contact with others dog's and with people. The kennel staff and instructors take the dogs into the free exercise area several times a day; there, they can play with the other dogs in their pack.

What happens to the dogs when they can not work any longer?

Dogs that can not work longer anymore (whether for health reasons or because of their age) are «retired». The choice of where they spend their well-earned retirement is very individual, and together with the guide dog owner we will find the best solution; dogs may stay with their owners, or with somebody in their social environment, or in an appropriate, loving home found for them by the school (further information is available at Retired dogs.

Skip to main content Lien de saut: Recherche Lien de saut: Qu’est-ce qu’un chien guide d’aveugle? Lien de saut: Êtes-vous intéressé-e? Lien de saut: Veuillez nous contacter
Labrador noir couché au pied d’un arbre recouvert de mousse

FAQ's

Foire aux questions sur notre école

Pourquoi l’école pour les chiens guides d’aveugles Allschwil forme-t-elle principalement des labradors retrievers?

Nos labradors retrievers d’Allschwil proviennent de notre propre élevage. Le labrador est un chien robuste et facile d’entretien. En plus d’aimer travailler, il est aussi très indépendant, gentil avec les gens et les autres chiens et très adaptable.
Mais on peut aussi former d’autres races ainsi que des chiens croisés. Il nous semble important que le chien, avec ses talents et son caractère, s’adapte à la tâche qu’on attend de lui et qu’il ait plaisir à travailler.

Les meilleurs chiens guides d’aveugles, d’assistance et d’accompagnement pour enfants autistes sont-ils des mâles ou des femelles?

Il n’y a pas de différence entre les mâles et les femelles ni en formation ni en activité. Les différences dépendent plutôt de la personnalité du chien et n’ont rien à voir avec son sexe.

À quoi remarque-t-on qu’un chien a ou non les aptitudes pour devenir chien guide d’aveugle, d’assistance ou d’accompagnement pour enfants autistes?

Il faut quelques semaines pour déterminer si un chien a les aptitudes ou non. Pendant ce temps, on observe le talent, les aptitudes et le caractère du chien, puis on décide si le chien sera formé comme chien guide d’aveugle, chien d’assistance ou chien d’accompagnement pour enfants autistes. S’il n’a pas les aptitudes nécessaires, il devient alors chien de famille et suivra plus tard avec son nouveau détenteur la formation de chien à but social.

Pourquoi les signes auditifs sont-ils en italien?

L’italien qui contient plus de voyelles que l’allemand est très bien adapté à la trentaine de signaux auditifs utilisés. Cela permet au chien de mieux différencier les différents signes auditifs de la langue parlée habituellement. Dans d’autres écoles, les signes auditifs sont généralement dans la langue nationale.

Quelle est la durée quotidienne de la formation?

Selon le niveau de formation du chien, cela peut aller de quelques minutes à une heure de travail au harnais d’affilée. En dehors du temps passé à apprendre des tâches spécifiques à chaque type d’activité, les instructeurs travaillent quotidiennement sur le comportement du chien pendant son temps libre.

Est-ce qu’un instructeur forme plusieurs chiens en même temps?

Un instructeur forme deux à trois chiens en parallèle. Il travaille avec chaque chien séparément et adapte les durées d’entraînement aux besoins et au niveau de formation de chaque chien.

Dans quelles conditions les chiens sont-ils détenus à l’école?

Les chiens dorment par groupes de deux ou trois dans un box. Les instructeurs emmènent très souvent leurs chiens chez eux le soir ou le week-end. Nous attachons une grande importance à ce que les chiens passent peu de temps seuls. Le chien est un animal de meute qui a besoin du contact avec ses congénères et avec l’homme. Plusieurs fois par jour, les surveillants et les instructeurs emmènent les chiens s’ébattre et jouer en meute.

Qu’advient-il des chiens quand ils ne peuvent plus travailler?

Les chiens qui ne peuvent plus travailler pour des raisons de santé ou d’âge sont mis à la «retraite». L’endroit où les chiens passent leur retraite bien méritée diffère pour chaque chien et nous trouvons avec le client une solution, soit chez son détenteur actuel, soit chez quelqu’un de son entourage. Sinon l’école cherche un foyer accueillant qui convienne au chien (pour en savoir plus, consulter le lien Chiens à la retraite).